New Local Titles

 California Screamin’

California. Close your eyes and say it: California. Images of perpetual sunshine, swaying palm trees, and blue waters lapping at sandy beaches. That one word conjures visions of gold and fame, luring dreamers to its mythic shores. The original peoples lived in an abundant paradise. The Spanish found a familiarity to their homeland. The Gold Rush, Hollywood, and Silicon Valley promised instant wealth. But the beaches are only a sliver of this vast land. Beyond it lie expanses of deserts, mountains, and rugged coastline cutting it off from reality. Isolated, California reveals a dark side—wraithlike fog of the northern coast, dense shadows in ancient forests, and hellish heat of vast deserts. It is to these places you will journey. Within these pages, you will find stories of primeval specters, soured fantasies, transplanted vampires, bizarre geography.

This is the reality of nightmares…

This is California Screamin’.


Publication date October 22, 2017

Edited by Danielle Kaheaku

Introduction by Jonathan Maberry

Foreword poem “Between the Dreams and Screams” by Lori Lopez




“The Dark Watchers” by E.S. Magill

“Agency Cost” by Aaron Smith

“The Mount of Death” by Kevin David Anderson

“The Perfect Playground” by Chad Stroup

“Manananggal” by Billy San Juan

“Feed Your Muse” by R.W. Goldsmith

“Bumming Smokes” by Brian Asman

“Kenneth is Drowning” by James Jensen

“Goddess Feast” by KC Grifant

“June Gloom” by Kevin Wetmore

“Hidden Depths” by Alexandra Neumeister

“O For a Muse of Fire” by Nickolas Furr

“In the River” by Jean Graham

“Eyes of the Salton Sea” by Sarah Read


*Please note*

This is not an official HWA publication, nor paid for by the HWA. This is being created by a collective of HWA SD Chapter members as an effort to expose local authors and support struggling writers through our upcoming scholarship program.

Nickolas Furr is proud to be part of Lycan Valley Press’s inaugural anthology, Morbid Metamorphosis, a collection of horror and dark fantasy tales about metamorphosis and transformation. His short story, “Hyde and Seek,” looks back several years after Robert Louis Stevenson’s character ended his reign of terror. It is also the second published story involving the Challenger’s Club, a London-based post-Victorian era club for survivors and sufferers of the supernatural, which made their first appearance in “In the Wardrobe,” published as part of A Darke Phantastique: Encounters with the Uncanny and Other Magical Things, by Cycatrix Press.

It is available in both e-book format and in paperback.


His own blog:  The Writer’s Washroom




Kevin David Anderson’s short story Scarecrows and Devils is live on Amazon from Digital Fiction Publishing. A timely tale of how the world might end.









Bucelarii 2 SmallThe Last Bucelarii (Book 2): Lament of the Fallen

Lament of the Fallen, the second installment of The Last Bucelarii series, is a dark fantasy/grimdark novel that examines the darker side of human nature: the monsters in our heads.

A faceless, nameless assassin. A forgotten past.  The Hunter of Voramis–a killer devoid of morals, or something else altogether? (The Last Bucelarii–dark fantasy with a look at the underside of human nature)

Alone with the bloodthirsty voices in his head, fleeing the pain of loss, he has one objective: travel north to find Her, the mystery woman who plagues his dreams and haunts his memories.
When he stumbles upon a bandit attack, something within urges him to help. His actions set him at odds with the warrior priests commanded to hunt down the Bucelarii.

Left for dead, the Hunter must travel to Malandria to recover his stolen birthright. There, he is inexorably drawn into direct conflict with the Order of Midas, the faceless, nameless group of magicians that holds the city in a grip of terror. All while struggling to silence the ever-louder voice in his mind that drives him to kill.

From feared assassin to wretched outcast, the Hunter’s journey leads him to truths about his forgotten past and the Abiarazi he has pledged to hunt. His discoveries will shed light on who he really is…what he really is.

Amazon Kindle:
Amazon Paperback:

51dNIqHmSKL“Acquired Taste,” by Chad Stroup is a grotesque dystopian tale dealing with the ethics of consuming flesh, is featured in issue #4 of Capricious. Available in Kindle version on Amazon:

Jean Graham sold her story Tomorrow We Be Free, to Digital Fiction Publishing for their upcoming anthology Memento Mori. Jean’s story is a Civil War piece based upon the letters of her great-grandfather, a 13-year-old enlistee in the Ohio 151st Infantry.

13312854_1146551572068076_6372802396521507669_nIn 2014 his novel Night of the Living Trekkies was added to the curriculum at Mansfield University of Pennsylvania in a course offered to incoming freshman called How I learned to survive college from the Zombie Apocalypse. He has just learned that my new middle grade novel, Night of the ZomBEEs, will also be added to the required reading list of the course this fall. He will also be Skyping in for a Q&A session at the end of the year. Other writers that have previously been featured in the class were David Moody, Jonathan Maberry, and Joe McKinney.

At the end of June the audiobook version of his novel Night of the ZomBEEs will be released produced by Parsec Award winning podcaster Rish Outfeild.

Skip to toolbar